Education Edge » Bartee, McClelland Named Education Policy Fellows


Bartee, McClelland Named Education Policy Fellows

by UM School of Education on October 30, 2017

RoSusan Bartee, Ph.D., (left) and Susan McClelland, Ph.D. (right)

SOE faculty members RoSusan Bartee and Susan McClelland are among 18 teachers and administrators in the latest cohort of the Mississippi Education Policy Fellowship Program.

Bartee is an SOE professor of educational leadership. McClelland is an associate professor and chair of the UM Department of Teacher Education.

One of 13 in such programs the U.S., the organization is a coordinated by multiple units at Mississippi State University.

According to the program’s website, it is “available to professionals who have a direct interest in education policy and advocacy. This includes but is not limited to teachers, principals, superintendents, state education agency representatives, and higher education professionals. (…) Over a nine-month commitment, Fellows concentrate on three program strands: public policy, leadership and professional networking. Fellows remain in their full-time positions and use their environment as the context for examining important leadership and policy issues in Mississippi.”

Beginning this month, the Mississippi Fellows cohort is convening monthly through May, holding its first meeting at the Mississippi Museum of Art in Jackson. They are discussing state and national education policies, along with ways to successfully advocate on behalf of Mississippi students and schools.

Next March, the fellows will travel to Washington, D.C., where they and program peers from around the country will meet with their respective elected representatives, as well as leaders of the National Institute for Educational Leadership.

In addition to Bartee and McClelland, the other 2017-18 Mississippi Fellows include (by institution or office):

—Benton County Schools, Ashland: principal Sharon Albert and Elynda Finley, administrative assistant and librarian.

—Cleveland School District: teacher Mary Katherine Honeycutt, who also is a graduate fellow with Delta State University, and principal Cody Shumaker.

—Gulfport School District: principal John Barnett.

—Hinds Community College–Utica Campus: Yolanda Houston, teacher education preparation director.

—Kemper County School District, DeKalb: principal Kathi Wilson.

—Mississippi Community College Board, Jackson: Micca Knox, Early Childhood Academy director.

—MSU-Meridian: assistant professor Jeffrey Leffler, graduate studies director.

—MSU-Starkville: Brad Skelton, an RCU project manager.

—Pass Christian School District: Meridith Bang, chief academic officer.

—Pearl River County School District, Carriere: principal Stacy Baudoin.

—Rankin County School District, Brandon: assistant principal Melanie Wells.

—Tallahatchie River Foundation, Charleston: Elizabeth Harris, engagement and communications director.

—Teach for America–Mississippi, Oxford: Stephanie Parkinson, regional designer.